Engagement Story

I was reflecting on all of my past blog posts this semester and realized I never blogged about the story of how my fiancé asked me to marry him.

We were in Thompson Falls, MT for Memorial Day weekend last year with my parents and our family friends. We were staying in a cute cabin off the river and had plans to go four wheeling up in the mountains. We found a place that led to the Deborgia-Thompson Falls overlook pass it was about a 2-mile ride up and it was the most beautiful area. It was starting to get late so we decided to head back down the mountain to the truck. We left before my parents and family friends did and the whole ride down Chris was very quiet and I thought he was just enjoying the scenery, little did I know he had other things on his mind.

We finally got down to the truck, by this time we had dirt all over us and my hair was a hot mess. I opened the truck door to brush my hair and wipe my face off before we headed back to the cabin. After fixing myself up I turned around and to my surprise Chris was on his knee with the ring in his hand. He was shaking, and I could tell he was nervous. I will never forget the look on his face when he asked me to marry him. I was so shocked and admittedly the first thing that came out of my mouth was asking if he asked me Dad first. He anxiously replied back that he did and grabbed the ring out of the box to put on my finger. I grabbed him to hug him tightly and told him yes, I would love to marry him. We enjoyed that moment together for a few minutes before the rest of the crew came down the hill. We told them our big news, they were so surprised but happy for us.

As we were sitting there talking with my parents after the proposal, he told me he was planning on asking me on the top of the mountain overlook but forgot the ring in his truck. The funny part of the story that we always reminisce about, was the dead deer that was right next to the truck when he got down on his knee. I know we will continue to laugh and joke about that throughout our entire relationship.

 

 

 

That night my parents and family friends helped us celebrate by making us the best steak dinner. May 28, 2017 was the start of a new chapter in our adventure together.

 

engagement photo
Photo Credit : Bev Freeman

Leave a comment